John’s Blueberry Almond Muffins

blueberry muffins Last week when my neighbor John left to go live at a care center, I promised myself that I would continue to bake him muffins.  When he lived around the pond from us, you could always count on his offer to help with any project or need, but he would never ask for help himself, so baking muffins became my thanks and just a little something I could do.  He loved whatever muffins I might concoct and believe me with an herb garden, alternative flours and “personal tweaks” to any recipe, I have made some interesting baked items.  So, I thought I would share my Blueberry Almond recipe today.

This recipe is sort of based on one from an old Betty Crocker Cookbook my mom sent with me to my first apartment over 40 years ago.  In fact this morning while baking the muffins I realized I still use the baking  rack and measuring spoons she sent sent with me along with the cookbook to that apartment.  They are cherished items and always make whatever I’m baking take on special meaning.  That cookbook is still a constant kitchen companion that I refer to often!

Muffins are a simple pleasure, but they are my go to for something “cake-ish” as I seldom eat sweet cakes or cookies.  These are a healthy alternative and I know they will be special for my neighbor John.

John’s Blueberry Almond Muffins

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1/4 cup light  tasting olive oil
  • 3/4 cup almond flour
  • 3/4 cup Organic Einkorn all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp flax meal
  • 1/3 cup sugar (I use a combo of demarara and regular sugar)
  • 2 tsp aluminum free baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp lemon zest
  • 1/2 cup fresh blueberries
  • 1/3 cup slivered almonds

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Prepare muffin tin using muffin papers. Beat egg and stir in almond milk and olive oil. In another bowl put in your dry ingredients.  Mix wet and dry ingredients and then gently fold in the lemon zest, fresh blueberries and slivered almonds.  Mix only enough for the batter to be moistened but still a bit lumpy. Fill muffin papers 2/3 full and bake 18-22 minutes. Muffins should be golden and muffin bottoms should not look very dark- I always check this to be sure I don’t leave them in the oven too little or too long. Remove muffins immediately from muffin tin and cool on rack.

You can use conventional ingredients ie flour, milk and sugar- just be sure to note how much you need.  But I never use canola oil choosing to use a light olive oil instead and it works great!!  Enjoy!

One thought on “John’s Blueberry Almond Muffins

Leave a comment